home \ research axes
 

RESEARCH AXES


The members of the Zones of Tension research team aim to study diverse expressions of conflict within contemporary literary and cultural spaces. Their studies focus on the narrative, enunciative, discursive, and affective dimensions of conflict.

I. Different “sites” of conflict in literature:

  • language conflict
  • class conflict
  • conflict related to cultural belonging
  • conflict based on the axiology of values

II. Different areas of meaning:

  • CONFLICTUAL IDENTITIES

Conflictual identities describe antagonisms in an isotopic universe, a community where there is, on first impression, a shared referential universe. Examples of such conflictual identities include the literary figure of the outlaw, the rebel, and the marginal.

  • CONFLICTUAL BELONGINGS

Conflictual belongings describe antagonisms in an allotopic universe, where the community is diverse (through immigration, practices of dissensus) and where several referential universes intersect. Examples of such conflictual belongings include the literary figure of the migrant, the refugee, or the believer (within a secular world).

  • CONFLICTUAL LOYALTIES

Conflictual loyalties occur when societies are destabilized by the violence of exclusion, the disintegration of the social body, and the precariousness of material and psychic survival. The literary figure of the stigmatized “stranger” is an example of conflictual loyalties.

accueil \ axes de recherche
 

AXES DE RECHERCHE


L’équipe de recherche Zones de tension étudie les diverses expressions de la conflictualité dans les espaces littéraires et culturels contemporains. Ces études concernent les formes narrative, énonciative, discursive et émotionnelle de la conflictualité.

I. Les différents « lieux » de conflictualité dans la littérature :

  • conflit de langue
  • conflit de classe
  • conflit d’appartenance culturelle
  • conflit fondé sur l’axiologie des valeurs

II. Les différents domaines de sens :

  • les identités conflictuelles

Les identités conflictuelles décrivent l’existence d’antagonismes dans un univers isotopique, une communauté humaine possédant à première vue le même univers référentiel. Les figures littéraires du hors-la-loi, du rebelle, du marginal sont des exemples d’identités conflictuelles.

  • les appartenances conflictuelles

Les appartenances conflictuelles décrivent l’existence d’antagonismes dans un univers allotopique, une communauté humaine diversifiée (par l’immigration, la pratique du dissensus) qui entrecroise plusieurs univers référentiels. Les figures littéraires du migrant, du réfugié, ou du croyant dans un monde séculier sont des exemples d’appartenances conflictuelles.

  • les loyautés conflictuelles

Les loyautés conflictuelles traduisent l’existence d’appartenances en porte-à-faux dans un univers en proie à la violence de l’exclusion, à la désintégration du corps social, à la précarité de la survie matérielle et psychique. La figure littéraire de « l’étranger » stigmatisé serait un exemple de loyauté conflictuelle.