activities \ archives \ conferences
 

CONFERENCES


Espaces de dissensions civiles / Space of Civil Discord
October 29, 2010
Pavillon DeSève, UQAM / 320, rue Sainte-Catherine Est, Room DS 1950

Program:  HTML version | PDF version 

Description

David Harvey writes, “The freedom to make and remake our cities and ourselves is one of the most precious yet most neglected of our human rights.” The capitalist privatization of spaces - from neighborhoods and entire cities, to national and global locations - have radically transformed human landscapes through the “creative destructions” of financial, corporate, and state intervention. The wholesale appropriation of public spaces and their transformation into more profitable terrains of capital marginalize the poor, who are increasingly subjected to “geographies of containment” (Kawash) in inner city slums, shantytowns and to the “shadow cities” of the third world (Robert Neuwirth). Zygmunt Bauman notes that these spaces have become the repositories of disposable human beings displaced by economic, military, and natural disasters, and the production of “wasted lives” has become the inevitable outcome of rampant modernization and globalization.

In Canada, the Council for Social Development estimated in 2004 that 3.5 million were living in poverty, constituting more than 11% of the total population of the country. Attempts to number the homeless by Statistics Canada proved inadequate, for not only was there no operational definition of homelessness (prompting some to employ the term “continuum of homelessness”), but the difficulties of providing census figures of a hidden, mobile, and ever-changing population proved insurmountable. Recent estimates range from 1000 homeless in Calgary to 10,000 in Montreal. Despite the difficulties of arriving at precise numbers, these staggering figures are at odds with the prevailing national narrative of a democratically inclusive, prosperous, and egalitarian first-world nation that benefits from a progressive social safety net. Homelessness is not simply an unfortunate byproduct of capitalist processes but a complex social phenomenon shaped by government policies, housing regulation, corporate investment, social services agencies, and urban design. Furthermore, homelessness is culturally constructed through social discourse and through symbolization and representation in literature, the visual arts, cinema, and mainstream media.

This conference, which took place October 29, 2010 within the auspices of the Zones of Tension research group, opened up a space of debate on the question of the right to the city and more specifically, on the issues of poverty and homelessness in Canadian and Québécois social and cultural context. In what ways do poor individuals and communities contest, appropriate, and represent the spaces of the city as forms of resistance to the encroachments of capital? Topics to be addressed include constructions the working class, poverty, and the homeless; the built environment as site of resistance, conflict and violence; the engaged interventions of the poor and homeless through street art, demonstration and protest, and the social histories of slum dwellings, evictions, squatting, and tent cities in Canada and Quebec.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Harel
Full Professor, Department of Literary Studies, UQAM
Member of the Royal Society of Canada
Recipient of the Trudeau Fellowship Prize (2009-2012)
(514) 987-3000, ext. 4289
harel.simon@uqam.ca

Domenic A. Beneventi
Postdoctoral Fellow, CELAT-UQAM
(514) 987-3000, ext. 5629
beneventi.domenico@courrier.uqam.ca


Conference entitled Whither Culture? A Special Event on Cultural Mobility, 29 April-1 May 2010.
Under the supervision of Simon Harel and Marie-Christine Lambert-Perreault.

Organizing committee: Jérôme-Olivier Allard, Fabienne Claire Caland, Simon Houle,

Jonathan Lamy, and Karina Victoria Sieres.

With participants Benoit Aquin, ATSA (Action terroriste socialement acceptable / Socially Acceptable Terrorist Actions), Anouk Bélanger, Simon Brault, Ying Chen, Jean-François Côté, Boris Chukhovich, Andrée-Anne Dupuis-Bourret, Pierre Fortin, Masaki Fujihata, François Hartog, Simon Harel, Steven High, Alan John Knight, Michaël La Chance, Laurent Le Gall, Laurent Lamarche, Jean-Pierre Lemasson, Grégory Martoglio, Catherine Mavrikakis, Laurent Reveillac, Roxanne Rimstead, Régine Robin, Sherry Simon, Will Straw, and Éric Vennetilli.


Four members of the Zones of tension research team – Domenic Beneventi, Simon Harel, Roxanne Rimstead, and Sherry Simon – took part in the international Colloquium “Urbanités littéraires / Cityscapes - Literary Escapes”, sponsored by SUNY - BUFFALO in collaboration with the European journal Formules. The aim of the colloquium was to study the relationship between writing and its urban environment, as well as to make explicit the interactive connections between literature, architecture and urbanism.

10-13 September 2009, Niagara Marriott, Buffalo

Program
Abstracts of the papers


Under the aegis of the research team Zones of Tension (UQAM)

© Boris Est, National Library, 3D installation, 2009

Conference Psychanalyse et survivance : formes et structures (Psychoanalysis and Survival: Forms and Structures)
77th Congress of the ACFAS, Ottawa (Canada)
Friday, 15 May 2009

Organized by Nellie Hogikyan (Post-Doctoral Fellow, CELAT, UQAM) and Claudie Gagné (Assistant Professor, Trent University)

Description
Program


 
Conference Contested Spaces: Conflict, Counter-Narrative, and Culture from Below in Canadian and Québécois Literatures / Espaces contestés : conflit, contre-récit et la culture d’en bas dans les littératures canadienne et québécoise
 
Organized by Roxanne Rimstead (Université de Sherbrooke) and Domenic Beneventi (CELAT, UQAM)
 
1-2 May 2009

Conference Poster. Photo : Chris Erb

Web site
Program
Interviews with participants (video)

The Culture from Below Web site was created under the supervision of Roxanne Rimstead.


© Boris Est, Bibliothèque nationale, installation 3D, 2009
Conference Séismes / Seismic Shifts,
20th and 21st Century French and Francophone Studies, Internationl Colloquium / Colloque international d’études françaises et francophones des 20e et 21ème siècles (Minneapolis, MN)
 
26-28 March 2009
Web site
 
Thursday, 26 March 2009
Session D6. Zones of Tension
 
Chair: Simon Harel (Université du Québec à Montréal)
  • Sherry Simon (Concordia University): “Occupying the Territory: Topographic Shifts in Montréal Literature.”
  • Roxanne Rimstead (Université de Sherbrooke): “Looking Back in Anger: The Local and the Global in Poems by Patrice Desbiens.”
  • Pierre Ouellet (Université du Québec à Montréal): « Tonalité, tonicité, tensivité : l’expression de l’indignation dans la littérature actuelle » (“Tonality, Tonicity, Tensivity: The Expression of Indignation in Contemporary Literature”).
  • Simon Harel (Université du Québec à Montréal) : « Itinérer/intinérance : lieux communs du conflit » (“Homeless/Homelessness: Common Spaces of Conflict”).
  • Catherine Leclerc (McGill University) : « Malaise dans la traduction : passages au français de la littérature anglo-québécoise » (“Translation and Its Discontents: Anglo-Quebec Writing's Turns to French”).

The conference Le Père : diaspora, nation et transmission  (The Father: Diaspora, Nation, and Transmission) took place on 4-5 March 2008 at the CELAT, UQAM. The conference was organized by Nellie Hogikyan in collaboration with Simon Harel, under the aegis of the Zones of Tension research team and the help of the CELAT, UQAM.

Description
Program


The conference Densité, intensité, tensions. L’urbanité montréalaise en question (Density, Intensity, Tensions: Probing into Montréal Urbanity) took place on 2 November 2007 at Montréal’s Galerie Monopoli. The conference was organized by the CELAT, UQAM, in collaboration with the Institut du patrimoine (Heritage Institute), UQAM, and the Université de Montréal’s Department of English Studies.

Conference Poster

Description
Program

activités \ archives \ colloques
 

COLLOQUES


Espaces de dissensions civiles / Space of Civil Discord
29 octobre 2010
Pavillon J.-A.-DeSève, UQAM / 320, rue Sainte-Catherine Est, local DS 1950

Programme de l'événement :  version HTML | version PDF

Descriptif

David Harvey rapporte que « la liberté de façonner et de remodeler nos villes et nous-mêmes constitue l’un de nos droits les plus importants, mais le plus méconnu ». La privatisation capitaliste de l’espace – qui englobe aussi bien des quartiers et des villes entières que des zones à caractère national et international – a transformé de façon radicale le paysage humain à travers les « destructions créatives » de l’intervention du milieu financier, des entreprises et de l’État. L’appropriation systématique des espaces publics, ainsi que leur transformation en des capitaux plus profitables, marginalisent les pauvres, qui sont de plus en plus assujettis à des « géographies contraintes » (Kawash) à l’intérieur de taudis dans des quartiers déshérités, de bidonvilles et de « villes fantômes » dans le tiers-monde (Neuwirth). Zygmunt Bauman observe que ces espaces sont devenus les dépotoirs d’êtres humains jetables déplacés par des catastrophes économiques, militaires ou naturelles. Il ajoute que ces « vies gaspillées » sont le résultat inévitable d’une modernisation et d’une mondialisation endémiques.

En 2004, le Conseil canadien de développement social estima que 3,5 millions de personnes vivaient dans le besoin, ce qui représente plus de 11 % de toute la population du Canada. Les tentatives de Statistique Canada de calculer le nombre d’itinérants se sont également avérées infructueuses car non seulement il n’existait aucune définition opérationnelle sur l’itinérance (ce qui a incité certaines personnes à utiliser l’expression « continuum de l’itinérance »), mais aussi les difficultés liées à l’obtention de résultats de recensement d’une population cachée, mobile et en perpétuelle évolution se sont révélées insurmontables. Les estimations récentes varient entre 1000 itinérants à Calgary et 10 000 itinérants à Montréal. Malgré les difficultés à avoir des chiffres exacts, ces estimations ahurissantes ne correspondent pas au discours national actuel d’une nation démocratique du « premier monde », une nation qui se dit accueillante, prospère et égalitaire, et qui bénéficie d’une couverture sociale dynamique. L’itinérance n’est pas simplement un sous-produit inapproprié des procédés capitalistes, mais plutôt un phénomène social complexe influencé par les politiques gouvernementales, les politiques du logement, les investissements centraux, les agences de services sociaux, et l’art urbain. De plus, l’itinérance est culturellement construite par l’entremise du discours social, ainsi que de la symbolisation et de la représentation dans la littérature, les arts visuels et les médias grand public.

Le présent colloque, qui a eu lieu le 29 octobre 2010 dans le cadre du groupe de recherche Zones de tension, a offert un espace propice aux débats sur la question du droit à la ville et, plus précisément, sur les enjeux de la pauvreté et l’itinérance dans les contextes culturels canadien et québécois. Quels sont les moyens dont disposent les individus et les communautés pauvres pour contester, s’approprier et représenter les espaces de la ville comme formes de résistance à l’empiètement sur le capital ? Les sujets tels que les constructions de la classe ouvrière, la pauvreté et les sans-abris ; le site urbain comme site de résistance, de conflit et de violence ; les interventions des pauvres et des sans-abris qui s’engagent à travers les arts de la rue, les manifestations et les protestations ; et l’histoire sociale des taudis, des expulsions, des squatts, et des « villes-tentes » au Canada et au Québec pourront être examinés au sein de cet espace.

Simon Harel
Professeur titulaire, Département d'études littéraires, UQAM
Membre de la Société royale du Canada
Récipient du prix Trudeau (2009-2012)
Téléphone : (514) 987-3000, ext. 4289
Courriel : harel.simon@uqam.ca

Domenic A. Beneventi
Stagiaire postdoctoral, CELAT-UQAM
Téléphone : (514) 987-3000, ext. 5629
Courriel : beneventi.domenico@courrier.uqam.ca


 

OÙ VA LA CULTURE ? Événement sur la mobilité culturelle
du 29 avril au 1er mai 2010 au Cœur des sciences de l’UQAM

programme | descriptif | lieux de l'événement | soirée de performances

Sous la direction de Simon Harel et Marie-Christine Lambert-Perreault

Collaborateurs : Jérôme-Olivier Allard, Fabienne Claire Caland, Simon Houle, Jonathan Lamy et Karina Victoria Sieres

Avec Anouk Bélanger, Simon Brault, Ying Chen, Boris Chukhovich, Jean-François Côté, Claudine Cyr, Jean-Simon DesRochers, Gilles Dupuis, Andrée-Anne Dupuis-Bourret, Pierre Fortin, Masaki Fujihata, François Hartog, Steven High, Louis Jacob, Michaël La Chance, Laurent Lamarche, Laurent Le Gall, Jean-Pierre Lemasson, Grégory Martoglio, Catherine Mavrikakis, Sylvianne Pilon, Laurent Reveillac, Roxanne Rimstead, Régine Robin, Annie Roy, Michel Rundstadler, Sherry Simon, Will Straw et Éric Vennettilli


Quatre membres de l’équipe de recherche Zones de tension – Domenic Beneventi, Simon Harel, Roxanne Rimstead et Sherry Simon – ont participé au colloque international « Urbanités littéraires / Cityscapes - Literary Escapes » organisé par l’Université de New York (Buffalo) en collaboration avec la revue Formules. Le colloque avait pour objet d'étudier le rapport de l'écriture à son environnement urbain et d'expliciter les rapports interactifs entre la littérature, l'architecture et l'urbanisme.

Du 10 au 13 septembre 2009, Niagara Marriott, Buffalo

Programme du colloque
Résumés des communications


Sous l’égide de l’équipe de recherche Zones de tension (UQAM)

© Boris Est, Bibliothèque nationale, installation 3D, 2009

Colloque Psychanalyse et survivance : formes et structures
77e Congrès de l'ACFAS, Ottawa (Canada)
Le vendredi 15 mai 2009

Sous la direction de Nellie Hogikyan (Chercheure postdoctorale, CELAT, UQAM) et Claudie Gagné (Professeure adjointe, Université Trent)

descriptif
programme


 
Colloque Espaces contestés : conflit, contre-récit et la culture d’en bas dans les littératures canadienne et québécoise / Contested Spaces: Conflict, Counter-Narrative, and Culture from Below in Canadian and Québécois Literatures
 
Sous la direction de Roxanne Rimstead (Université de Sherbrooke) et Domenic Beneventi (CELAT, UQAM).
 
du 1er au 2 mai 2009

Affiche du colloque. Photo : Chris Erb

Site Internet
Programme
Entrevues des participants (vidéo)

Site Internet Culture from Below (Culture d'en bas) créé sous la direction de Roxanne Rimstead


© Boris Est, Bibliothèque nationale, installation 3D, 2009
Séismes / Seismic Shifts, Colloque international d’études françaises et francophones des 20e et 21ème siècles / 20th and 21st Century French and Francophone Studies, Internationl Colloquium (Minneapolis, MN)
 
du 26 au 28 mars 2009
Site Internet
 
Le jeudi 26 mars 2009
Séance D6. Zones de tension
 
Président de séance : Simon Harel (Université du Québec à Montréal)
  • Sherry Simon (Université Concordia) :  « Occupying the Territory: Topographic Shifts in Montreal Literature ».
  • Roxanne Rimstead (Université de Sherbrooke) : « Looking Back in Anger: The Local and the Global in Poems by Patrice Desbiens ».
  • Pierre Ouellet (Université du Québec à Montréal) : « Tonalité, tonicité, tensivité : l'expression de l'indignation dans la littérature actuelle ».
  • Simon Harel (Université du Québec à Montréal) :« Itinérer/intinérance : lieux communs du conflit ».
  • Catherine Leclerc (Université McGill) : « Malaise dans la traduction : passages au français de la littérature anglo-québécoise ». 

Le colloque Le Père : diaspora, nation et transmission a eu lieu au CELAT à l'UQAM les 4 et 5 mars 2008. Le colloque a été organisé par Nellie Hogikyan en collaboration avec Simon Harel, sous l'égide de l'équipe de recherche Zones de tension, à l'aide du CELAT à l'UQAM.

Descriptif
Programme


Le colloque Densité, intensité, tensions. L'urbanité montréalaise en question  a eu lieu les 1er et 2 novembre 2007 à la Galerie Monopoli à Montréal. Ce colloque a été organisé par le CELAT à l'UQAM, en collaboration avec l’Institut du patrimoine (UQAM) et du département d'études anglaises de l'Université de Montréal.

Affiche du colloque

Descriptif
Programme